Navigate Up
Sign In
Renew Today layoutimage
Skip navigation links
Skip navigation links
About STTIExpand About STTI
Awards / GrantsExpand Awards / Grants
CareerExpand Career
Education / CNEExpand Education / CNE
EventsExpand Events
FoundationExpand Foundation
Global ActionExpand Global Action
JOB Board
Leadership InstituteExpand Leadership Institute
PublicationsExpand Publications
ResearchExpand Research
Student CentralExpand Student Central
Volunteer ConnectExpand Volunteer Connect
Home : Awards / Grants : International Awards : 2009 Award Recipients

2009 International Award Recipients

Audrey Hepburn Award
Susan M. Ludington, PhD, CNM, FAAN

Best of Publication Awards
Best of Worldviews on Evidence-Based Practice Award
Figuring it Out in the Moment: A Theory of Unregulated Care Providers' Knowledge Utilization in Dementia Care Settings
Nadine Jones, RN, GNC(c), PhD
Souraya Sidani, RN, PhD
Cheryl Cott, PhD
Susan Rappolt, PhD, OT Reg (Ont.)

Best of Journal of Nursing Scholarship: World Health
The Lived Experience of Genocide Rape Survivors in Rwanda
Donatilla Mukamana, MSN
Petra Brysiewicz, PhD

Best of Journal of Nursing Scholarship: Clinical Scholarship
Searching for the Intervention in Intervention Research Reports
Vicki S. Conn, RN, PhD, FAAN
Pamela S. Cooper, PhD
Todd M. Ruppar, RN, MSN
Cynthia L. Russell, RN, PhD

Best of Journal of Nursing Scholarship: Health Policy and Systems
Evaluating Home Health Care Nursing Outcomes with OASIS and NOC

Julie Stocker Schneider, RN, PhD
Violet Barkauskas, RN, PhD, FAAN
Gail Keenan, RN, PhD

Best of Sigma Theta Tau International Books Award
Martha A.Q. Curley, RN, PhD, FAAN

Board Awards
Archon Award
Free the Children
Greg Mortenson, RN
Linda Spoonster Schwartz, RN, MSN, DrPh, FAAN

Dorothy Ford Buschmann Presidential Award
Thomas L. Huston, BSB

Lucie S. Kelly Mentor Award
Bessie L. Marquis, RN, MSN
Patricia E. Thompson, RN, EdD, FAAN

Nell J. Watts Lifetime Achievement in Nursing Award
Nancy Dickenson-Hazard, RN, MSN, FAAN

Chapter Awards
Chapter Community Building Award
Nu Chapter, University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Nursing

Chapter Communications Award
Kappa Tau Chapter, University of Vermont

Chapter Research Advancement Award
Rho Theta Chapter, Northern Kentucky University

Chapter Spirit of Philanthropy Award
Tau Lambda-at-Large, South Africa

Clinical Scholarship Award
Mary E. Lough, RN, MS, PhD(c), CNS, CCRN, CNRN

Daniel J. Pesut Spirit of Renewal Award
Cheryl S. Taylor, RN, PhD

Founders Awards

Dorothy Garrigus Adams Award for Excellence in Fostering Professional Standards
Linda Cronenwett, PhD, RN, FAAN

Edith Moore Copeland Award for Excellence in Creativity
Dr. Marla E. Salmon, RN, ScD, FAAN

Ethel Palmer Clarke Award for Chapter Excellence
Gamma Chapter

Elizabeth McWilliams Miller Award for Excellence in Research
Nancy C. Edwards, RN, BScN, MSc, PhD, FCAHS

Elizabeth Russell Belford Award for Excellence in Education
Fay L. Bower, RN, DNSc, FAAN

Marie Hippensteel Lingeman Award for Excellence in Nursing Practice
Mary Fran Tracy, RN, PhD, FAAN

Mary Tolle Wright Award for Excellence in Leadership
Joanne Disch, RN, PhD, FAAN

Geriatric Nursing Leadership Award
Amy E. Cotton, MSN, FNP-BC, FNGNA

Helen Henry Excellence of Care Award
P.J. Holman
Abby McConathy
Laurie VanDamme

Honorary Membership
Denise F. Polit, PhD
Monica Sharma, MD
HRH Princess Muna Al Hussein
Norman H. Volk

Media Awards

Nursing Media Awards (Print)
Johns Hopkins Nursing
Kelly Brooks Staub, Editor

Nursing Media Awards (Other - Electronic, Photography, Art, etc.)
Linda Cronenwett, PhD, RN, FAAN
Gwen Sherwood, PhD, RN, FAAN
Denise Hirst, MSN, RN
Jean Blackwell, MLS, ASHIP
Steve Segedy, MSIS
Dawn O'Neal

Public Media Awards (Print)
Sandy Jacobs Summers, RN, MSN, MPH

Public Media Awards (Other - Electronic, Photography, Art, etc.)
Project HealthDesign - Grantee Videos
Linda G. Brei, BA, MAT
Gail Casper, RN, PhD
Patricia Flatley Brennan, RN, PhD, FAAN
Susan Promislo
Mike Warner

Melanie C. Dreher Outstanding Dean Award for Chapter Support
Zane R. Wolf, RN, PhD, FAAN

Pillar of Service and Pillar of Leadership Award
Larry Z. Slater, RN, BSN

Practice Academe Innovative Collaboration Award
Registered Nurses’ Association of Ontario (RNAO), 21 Best Practice Spotlight Organizations (BPSO), and the joint RNAO/University of Ottawa (UO) Nursing Best Practice Research Unit (NBPRU)

Research Awards
Research Dissemination Award
Cynthia Logsdon, DNS, ARNP, FAAN

Research Dissertation Award
Catherine (Cathy) J. Carter-Snell, RN, PhD

Research Utilization Award
Marie-Louise Luiking, MA, RN

The Episteme Award
Mary D. Naylor, RN, PhD, FAAN

Technology Awards
Computer-Based Professional Education Technology Award
The GW Department of Nursing Education NNEPI Project Team

Computer-Based Public Education Technology Award
Carolyn Vachani, RN, MSN, AOCN

Information Technology Awards - Knowledge Advancement
Linda Cronenwett, PhD, RN, FAAN 
Gwen Sherwood, PhD, RN, FAAN
Denise Hirt, MSN, RN
Jean Blackwell, MLS, ASHIP
Steve Segedy, MSIS
Dawn O'Neal

Virginia K. Saba Nursing Informatics Leadership Award
Diane Skiba, PhD, FAAN, FACMI


Improving World Health Through Knowledge
My Membership Renew Today Donate to the STTI Foundation Nursing Knowledge International The Circle Reflections on Nursing Leadership Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library International Academic Nursing Alliance The Center for Excellence in Long Term Care
550 W. North Street – Indianapolis, IN 46202 USA  |  888.634.7575 (TOLL FREE - US/CANADA only)  |  +1.317.634.8171 (INTNL)