Navigate Up
Sign In
Renew Today layoutimage
Skip navigation links
Skip navigation links
About UsExpand About Us
Awards / GrantsExpand Awards / Grants
CareerExpand Career
EducationExpand Education
EventsExpand Events
FoundationExpand Foundation
Global ActionExpand Global Action
JOB Board
Leadership InstituteExpand Leadership Institute
PublicationsExpand Publications
ResearchExpand Research
Student CentralExpand Student Central
Volunteer ConnectExpand Volunteer Connect
Home : Awards / Grants : International Awards : PracticeAcademe_RNAO

Practice Academe Innovative Collaboration Award
RNAO/BPSO/UO —Celebrating 10 years of collaboration in advancing
evidence-based practice

Registered Nurses’ Association of Ontario (RNAO), 21 Best Practice Spotlight Organizations (BPSO), and the joint RNAO/University of Ottawa (UO) Nursing Best Practice Research Unit (NBPRU), Canada

Irmajean Bajnok, RN, PhD
RNAO and 21 BPSOs
Lambda Pi-at-Large Chapter

Barbara L. Davies, PhD
University of Ottawa, School of Nursing
Tau Gamma Chapter

Nancy Edwards, RN, PhD
University of Ottawa, School of Nursing
Tau Gamma Chapter

Doris Grinspun, RN, PhD(c)
RNAO and 231 BPSOs
Lambda Pi-at-Large Chapter

Heather McConnell, RN, BScN, MA(Ed)
RNAO and 21 BPSOs
Lambda Pi-at-Large Chapter

Kirsten Woodend, PhD
University of Ottawa, School of Nursing
Tau Gamma Chapter

The Registered Nurses’ Association of Ontario (RNAO) founded the Best Practice Guidelines Programs in 1999, supported by funding from Ontario’s Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care. Since its inception, RNAO partnered with the University of Ottawa Faculty of Nursing and service organizations to advance optimal patient care through evidence-based practice. To date, this partnership has resulted in 35 clinical and seven healthy work environments best practice guidelines (BPGs) available worldwide at no cost ( Several additional guidelines are being developed and all are reviewed regularly.

RNAO is involved in numerous provincial and national guideline implementation projects. Ongoing evaluation and externally funded research has been led by academics at the University of Ottawa School of Nursing and members of the Nursing Best Practice Research Unit (NBPRU). The NBPRU 2008-2009 annual report lists 145 grants and 142 publications. The Best Practice Spotlight Organizations are critical partners in this collaborative. These are service organizations selected though a rigorous peer-review process. Those selected receive funding for a three-year candidacy program entailing implementation and evaluation of multiple guidelines.

Improving World Health Through Knowledge
My Membership Renew Today Donate to the STTI Foundation Nursing Knowledge International The Circle Reflections on Nursing Leadership Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library International Academic Nursing Alliance The Center for Excellence in Long Term Care
550 W. North Street – Indianapolis, IN 46202 USA  |  888.634.7575 (TOLL FREE - US/CANADA only)  |  +1.317.634.8171 (INTNL)