Navigate Up
Sign In
Renew Today layoutimage
Skip navigation links
Skip navigation links
About STTIExpand About STTI
Awards / GrantsExpand Awards / Grants
CareerExpand Career
Education / CNEExpand Education / CNE
EventsExpand Events
FoundationExpand Foundation
Global ActionExpand Global Action
JOB Board
Leadership InstituteExpand Leadership Institute
PublicationsExpand Publications
ResearchExpand Research
Student CentralExpand Student Central
Volunteer ConnectExpand Volunteer Connect
Home : About STTI : Mission/Vision : Honorary Members

Honorary Members

The Honor Society of Nursing bestows honorary membership upon individuals of national or international influence who have furthered the course of health care. Honorary stature is conferred by the society’s board of directors on those who demonstrate superior achievement in a chosen field and who demonstrate a special commitment to the ideals and concerns of nursing. Any active STTI member may nominate a person for honorary membership.

Read below to see previous recipients:

Honorary Members

Dr. Dorothy Rood

Ms. Adda Eldredge

Ms. Nellie X. Hawkinson

Ms. H. Phoebe Gordon

Dr. Ruth V. Johnston

Ms. Pearl McIver
Ms. Ruth Sleeper

Dr. Ruth Freeman

Dr. Leo Simmons
Dr. Elizabeth Soule

Dr. Lulu Hassenplug

Miss Jessie Scott

Dr. Pauline Gratz

Ms. Rosalie Abrams
Ms. Marilyn Goldwater
Dr. Ida V. Moffett
Dr. Donna Vredevoe

Dr. Fred Davis
Ms. Barbara Jacobsen
Dr. Philip A. Kalisch
Dr. Gene E. Lynn
Dr. Jerome P. Lysaught
Dr. Geraldine V. Padilla
Ms. Mary L. Pekarski
Dr. Mary Ann Swain
Dr. Elizabeth Muse Tornquist

Mr. W. Lee Conant, Jr.
Senator Daniel K. Inouye
Ms. Lucie Baines Johnson
Ms. Nellie Lee Powell

Mr. Jose R. Coronado
Dr. Sandra G. Funk
Ms. Margaret E. Kuhn
Dr. Doris H. Merritt
Dr. Diane J. Skiba

Ms. Nancy Evans
Dr. Lawrence H. Ganong
Mr. C. Wayne Hawkins
Dr. Doris A. Howell
Dr. Glenn W. Irwin, Jr.
Dr. Kathleen A. Knafl
Dr. John Phillip McGovern
Dr. Maryellen McSweeney
Dr. Mitchell T. Rabkin
Mr. Alan S. Trench
Dr. Kenneth A. Wallston

Ms. Rosemary Berkel Crisp
Dr. Saul J. Farber
Ms. Margie Wolcott May
Dr. Leonard W. Poon
Dr. Marguerite Schaefer
Dr. Ursula Springer

Dr. Jo Ann Crow
Dr. Alice J. Dan
Mr. John T. Dill
Dr. Patrick De Leon
Ms. Norma Matheson
Dr. Darlene Mood
Dr. Deborah H. Oakley
Dr. Steven V. Owen
Dr. Donna Shalala
Dr. David Wallace
Dr. T. Franklin Williams
Ms. Louise Woerner

Dr. Roberta L. Bondar
Dr. Joy H. Carlson
Dr. Lynne A. Farr
Dr. Gary D. Hales
Dr. David Hamburg
Ms. Patti Kishline
Ms. Beatrice Renfield
Dr. Susan M. Reverby
Ms. Patricia Turner

Mr. Gerald L. Bepko
Dr. Leighton Cluff
Mr. Dan Ent
Ms. Florence Nightingale
Dr. J. Kevin Nugent
Dr. Virginia Olesen
Ms. Patricia K. Scheerle
Mr. Robert Wolders

Dr. William G. Bartholome
Ms. Monique Bégin
Ms. Beverly Friedson Bodker (deceased)
Ms. Suzanne Gordon
Ms. Adele Coryell Hall
Congresswoman, Carolyn McCarthy
Dr. Diana Natalicio
Ms. Margaret Wright

Dr. Yuri Leonidovich Shevchenko

Mr. Alex Attewell
Mr. Erik Edward Joh, Esq
Dr. Eugene Levine
Mr. James P. Smith

Dr. Sandra Bertman
Ms. Nancy Lewin
Dr. Marion J. Ball

Vice Admiral Richard H. Carmona
Ms. Diane Carlson Evans
Dr. Nancy Lorenzi
Ms. Barbara J. Safriet
Honorable Louis Stokes
John L. Wright
William E. Wright
Mr. R. Ernest Waaser
Ms. Mary Ann Tuft
Dr. Masato Tsukahara

David B. Cooper
Barry La Forgia
David L. Olds
Donald M. Berwick
Paul E. Farmer
Kathleen F. Norr
Roy Simpson

Denise F. Polit
Monica Sharma
HRH Princess Muna Al Hussein, Jordan
Norman H. Volk

Jeff Arnold
Renu Dhasmana
Swami Ram Nagar
Kenneth Hepburn
Tore Laerdal
Gladys McGarey
Daniel B. Oerther


Improving World Health Through Knowledge
My Membership Renew Today Donate to the STTI Foundation Nursing Knowledge International The Circle Reflections on Nursing Leadership Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library International Academic Nursing Alliance The Center for Excellence in Long Term Care
550 W. North Street – Indianapolis, IN 46202 USA  |  888.634.7575 (TOLL FREE - US/CANADA only)  |  +1.317.634.8171 (INTNL)