International Awards for Nursing Excellence


STTI's International Awards for Nursing Excellence are based on the society's dedication to fostering high professional nursing standards, recognizing superior achievement, developing leadership, and encouraging creative work. 

Awards are conferred to nurses each biennium for contributions in the fields of technology, media, chapter excellence, research, leadership, and practice.

Award Cycle

The call for entries will open on 1 November 2016 and close on 1 March 2017 (the Chapter Key Award will run through 15 July 2017). 


Membership is not a qualification for all awards. Self and group nominations are accepted for some awards. STTI Board of Directors, STTI staff, STTI consultants and contracted staff, and members of the judging committee are not eligible.

Award Categories


  • Elizabeth McWilliams Miller Award for Excellence in Research
  • Emerging Nurse Researcher Award 
  • Episteme Award
  • Evidence-Based Practice Award
  • International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame Award
  • Research Dissemination Award
  • Research Dissertation Award

Click here to learn more.

Leadership / Professionalism

  • Amy J. Berman Geriatric Nursing Leadership Award
  • Daniel J. Pesut Spirit of Renewal Award
  • Dorothy Garrigus Adams Award for Excellence in Fostering Professional Standards
  • Mary Tolle Wright Award for Excellence in Leadership
  • Virginia K. Saba Nursing Informatics Leadership Award

Click here to learn more​​.


Education / Technology

  • Best Practice in Technology Award
  • Elizabeth Russell Belford Award for Excellence in Education

Click here to learn more​​.

Media / Communications / Publicity 

  • The Capstone International Nursing Book Award
  • Chapter Communications and Publicity Award
  • Media Awards (Print and Other)

Click here to learn more​​.

Nursing Practice

  • Audrey Hepburn Award for Contributions to the Health and Welfare of Children
  • Clinical Partnership Award
  • Edith Moore Copeland Award for Excellence in Creativity
  • Helen Henry Award for Excellence of Care Award
  • Hester C. Klopper Global Health Award
  • Marie Hippensteel Lingeman Award for Excellence in Nursing Practice
  • Practice Academe Innovative Collaboration Award

Click here to learn more​​.

Membership / Chapter Activity

  • Chapter Communications and Publicity Award 
  • Chapter Key Award
  • Ethel Palmer Clarke Award for Chapter Excellence
  • Melanie C. Dreher Outstanding Dean Award for Chapter Support
  • New Member Pillar Award

Click here to learn more​​.

Advance & Elevate