Elizabeth Russell Belford Award for Excellence in Education (Founders Award)


The Founders Awards offer homage to the six founding nurses of STTI and the director of nursing at Indiana University for their insights in 1922 that advanced scholarship, leadership, research, and practice. The awards recognize extraordinary excellence. 

Award Criteria | submit an entry | other education and technology awards

Past Award Recipients


2015 Award Recipient

Deanna L. Reising, PhD, RN, ACNS-BC, ANEF
Associate Professor
Indiana University
Indiana, USA
Alpha Chapter #001

Dr. Reising is Associate Professor of Nursing at Indiana University, where she conducts research on educational and patient outcomes of interprofessional education and practice. She teaches primarily in the Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) program with a focus on interprofessional education and practice. She mentors doctoral students in with a nursing education research focus. Dr. Reising serves as a Clinical Nurse Specialist at Indiana University Bloomington Hospital, Bloomington, Indiana, USA, and as the Magnet Program Coordinator for Indiana University Health system. Dr. Reising is a Fellow in the Academy of Nursing Education through the National League for Nursing. She was named a Macy Faculty Scholar in 2014 and her work focuses on a collaboration between Indiana University School of Nursing and Indiana University Health in Bloomington using interprofessional student navigation teams to impact patients at high risk for readmission in transitional care.

Advance & Elevate