Ethel Palmer Clarke Award for Chapter Excellence (Founders Award)


The Founders Awards offer homage to the six founding nurses of STTI and the director of nursing at Indiana University for their insights in 1922 that advanced scholarship, leadership, research, and practice. The awards recognize extraordinary excellence.

The top five scoring Chapter Key Award submissions will be considered for the Ethel Palmer Clarke Award for Chapter Excellence (all active chapters of the society in good standing are eligible for Chapter Key Award). Chapters should submit their own name in nomination for the Chapter Key Award. Deadline for Chapter Key Award is 15 July 2017. 

Past Award Recipients


2015 Award Recipient

Pi Gamma Chapter #385
Mercer University Georgia Baptist College of Nursing
Georgia, USA

18 May 1998, the Nursing Honor Society of Georgia Baptist College of Nursing of Mercer University was officially chartered as the Pi Gamma Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International. The chapter celebrated 17 years of active service in May 2015. The chapter currently has 201 active members. Pi Gamma accepted its 8th Chapter Key Award during the 43rd Biennial International Convention held in Las Vegas, Nevada, USA, November 2015. While we struggle with the same issues as many chapters (member retention and participation), we strive to provide a meaningful experience for our members. Our members live out the STTI mission daily, to advance world health and celebrate nursing excellence in scholarship, leadership, and service. Our dedication, perseverance and hard work have led to this award.

Advance & Elevate