Marie Hippensteel Lingeman Award for Excellence in Nursing Practice (Founders Award)


The Founders Awards offer homage to the six founding nurses of STTI and the director of nursing at Indiana University for their insights in 1922 that advanced scholarship, leadership, research, and practice. The awards recognize extraordinary excellence.

award criteria | Submit an Entry | Other Nursing Practice Awards

Past Award Recipients


2015 Award Recipient

Judith E. Haber, PhD, APRN, BC, FAAN
The Ursula Springer Leadership Professor in Nursing
New York University, College of Nursing
New York, USA
Upsilon Chapter #018
Alpha Omega Chapter #046

Dr. Judith Haber, the Ursula Springer Leadership Professor in Nursing at NYU College of Nursing, is an internationally recognized leader in psychiatric-mental health nursing, evidence-based practice, interprofessional education and practice and oral-systemic health. She is the Executive Director of a national oral health initiative, Oral Health Nursing Education and Practice (OHNEP) and the HRSA funded initiative, Teaching Oral-Systemic Health (TOSH) designed to advance a national nursing and interprofessional oral health agenda. Dr. Haber has received numerous awards including Distinguished Alumna Awards from Adelphi and New York University, the APNA Psychiatric Nurse of the Year Award, and the ANA Hildegarde Peplau Award. Dr. Haber is a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing. Dr. Haber is internationally recognized for her landmark textbook, Comprehensive Psychiatric Nursing and currently for the award winning textbook, Nursing Research: Methods and Critical Appraisal for Evidence-based Practice, as well as more than 100 articles and book chapters.

Advance & Elevate