International Awards for Nursing Excellence

Research Award Recipients

Past Award Recipients

2015 Elizabeth McWilliams Miller Award for Excellence in Research (Founders Award) Recipient

M. Cynthia Logsdon, PhD, WHNP-BC, FAAN

Professor - University of Louisville, School of Nursing Associate Chief of Nursing for Research - University of Louisville Hospital/James Graham Brown Cancer Center Kentucky, USA Alpha Chapter #001 Iota Gamma Chapter #217

Dr. Logsdon has had a long and distinguished career in nursing research as evidenced by her prolific publications and presentations, the impact of her research on nursing practice, publications with interdisciplinary and international researchers, service as a consultant and peer reviewer of research for professional journals and government agencies, her publications with and mentoring of undergraduate and graduate students, junior faculty and clinical nurses, and her service to research organizations. The extraordinary excellence of Dr. Logsdon’s scholarship has been externally validated by the most prestigious organizations in nursing. In 2005, Dr. Logsdon received the Excellence in Research Award from the Association of Women’s Health, Obstetrics, and Neonatal Nursing. In 2009, Dr. Logsdon received the Research Dissemination Award from Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI). From 2012 through 2013 she participated in the Maternal Child Health Leadership Program, sponsored by STTI and Johnson & Johnson, as a leadership mentor for research.

2015 The Episteme Award Recipient

Jacquelyn Campbell, PhD, RN, FAAN

Professor, Anna D. Wolf Chair Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing Maryland, USA Nu Beta Chapter #312

Dr. Jacquelyn Campbell is the Anna D. Wolf Chair and Professor in the Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing and the National Program Director of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Nurse Faculty Scholars Program. Her more than 12 major federally funded research investigations including studies of domestic violence homicide and improving the health care response to IPV. Elected to the Institute of Medicine (IOM) in 2000, she was the Co-Chair of the IOM Forum on the Prevention of Global Violence and is on the Board of Directors of Futures Without Violence and the One Love Foundation. Dr. Campbell has published more than 225 articles and seven books and has extensive policy related service including testimony at congressional meetings and before the Senate, as well as policy and research agenda setting meetings with NIH, CDC, SAMHSA, DHHS Office on Women’s Health, and a host of other organizations.

2015 Evidence-Based Practice Award Recipient
in collaboration with the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses

Rona F Levin, PhD, RN

Clinical Professor and Director, DNP Program New York University College of Nursing New York, USA Alpha Omega Chapter #046 Upsilon Chapter #018

Dr. Levin is clinical professor and director, DNP Program at New York University College of Nursing. Previously, Dr. Levin held positions at Pace University, Lienhard School of Nursing from 2001 through 2011, including Project Director of the Joan M. Stout, RN Evidence-Based Practice Initiative, during which time she created shared appointments with two clinical agencies for the purpose of integrating EBP into the nursing services. Dr. Levin is also Professor Emeritus of Felician College, where she served as Director, Division of Nursing and then Director, The first and second editions of her book (co-edited by Dr. Harriet Feldman), Teaching Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing, published by Springer won American Journal of Nursing Book of the Year Awards. In 2008. She received the Jesse M. Scott Award for exemplary integration of research, education and practice from the American Nurses’ Association.

2015 Research Dissemination Award Recipient

Sujatha Shanmugasundaram, PhD, RN, RM, MACN

Development of Palliative Care in India: An Overview Professor Victoria University Australia Eta Pi Chapter #182

Dr Sujatha Shanmugasundaram is a Lecturer (Nursing), Victoria University, Melbourne, Australia. She is experienced in teaching, research, scholarship and clinical practice. She has done several publications in peer reviewed journals and she presented her research papers in national and international conferences. For the past two years, she has been serving as a Research Chair for the Eta Pi Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International located at Wisconsin University in Oshkosh. Her contribution toward the development of at-Large chapter at Melbourne, Australia is enormous. She actively involves in recruiting the members and organizing professional development day in this chapter. She was successful with several grants and awards. In particular, she received an Edith Anderson Education Leadership Award in 2012. Currently, she involves in number of collaborative researches with international universities. Her areas of research interests were: aged care nursing, palliative care nursing, nursing issues, nursing research in both quantitative and qualitative research.

2015 Research Dissertation Award Recipient

Kerry Ann Peterson, PhD, DNP, PMHCNS, PMHNP

An Evaluation of Two Dating Violence Prevention Programs on a College Campus Assistant Professor University of Colorado, Colorado Springs Colorado, USA Xi Phi Chapter #355

Dr. Kerry Peterson is an Assistant Professor at the Beth-El College of Nursing and Health Sciences at the University of Colorado, Colorado Springs (UCCS). She teaches in the MSN and DNP programs, and she is the coordinator of the MSN Nursing Education option. Dr. Peterson is a Family Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (PMHNP). Her clinical experience includes psychiatric inpatient, outpatient, residential, and home health settings. Dr. Peterson currently practices as a PMHNP at the University Counseling Center on the UCCS campus. She earned her DNP degree in 2010 from Shenandoah University and her PhD in Nursing in 2014 from Johns Hopkins University. Her research interests include prevention and interventions for intimate partner violence and mental illness. Dr. Peterson is also the current president of the Xi Phi Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International.

Advance & Elevate