The Episteme Award


The Baxter International Foundation’s Episteme Award acknowledges a major breakthrough in nursing knowledge development that has resulted in a significant and recognizable benefit to the public.

The Baxter International Foundation generously provides a US $15,000 stipend to the award recipient. In the tradition of the Nobel Prize, The Episteme Award is presented to a person or team for highly significant research. The Episteme Laureate will be the keynote speaker at convention.  

award criteria | Submit an Entry | Other Research Awards

Past Award Recipients


2015 Award Recipient

Jacquelyn Campbell, PhD, RN, FAAN
Professor, Anna D. Wolf Chair
Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing
Maryland, USA
Nu Beta Chapter #312

Dr. Jacquelyn Campbell is the Anna D. Wolf Chair and Professor in the Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing and the National Program Director of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Nurse Faculty Scholars Program. Her more than 12 major federally funded research investigations including studies of domestic violence homicide and improving the health care response to IPV. Elected to the Institute of Medicine (IOM) in 2000, she was the Co-Chair of the IOM Forum on the Prevention of Global Violence and is on the Board of Directors of Futures Without Violence and the One Love Foundation. Dr. Campbell has published more than 225 articles and seven books and has extensive policy related service including testimony at congressional meetings and before the Senate, as well as policy and research agenda setting meetings with NIH, CDC, SAMHSA, DHHS Office on Women’s Health, and a host of other organizations.   

Advance & Elevate